Praying For Your Enemies: Part One

Praying For Your Enemies

Part One

In the past, I’ve talked about praying for your enemies and the importance of doing so. 

Reading this, especially if it’s your first time coming across “the importance of praying for your enemies,” you may be experiencing what I did when I first heard this. 

“But to you who are listening I say: Love your enemies, do good to those who hate you, bless those who curse you, pray for those who mistreat you.” Luke 6:27-28

It’s the- you must be joking, reaction. Why would I want to pray for my enemies? Point? Resolution? And coming full circle back to the infamous, “why?” 

“But God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.” Romans 5:8

Have you ever sat down and tried to understand God? Why God is the way that He is? How God has this uncanny ability to love without question, forgive without a second thought, and to be faithful, dependable, and helpful despite anything He’s endured since the beginning of creation ~ Genesis 1:1.

Stopping to consider the things that we have endured at the hands of those who enact evil and wicked things against us, the way it makes us feel, the way it alters our lives and perceptions of them; challenges each one of us in our mortal state of living and dealing with to comprehend with the following scripture ….

“For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms.” Ephesians 6:12

And Jesus said, “Father, forgive them, for they know not what they do.” Luke 23:34

Isaiah 53:5, tells us about Jesus being crucified, pierced for our sins, “But he was pierced for our transgressions, he was crushed for our iniquities; the punishment that brought us peace was on him, and by his wounds we are healed.”

And during this time, Jesus did not act out in malice or shout profanities. He did not call upon the Lord, Our God, to strike down those who opposed and were killing Him. Instead, Jesus, continuing to be the loving, kind, and merciful man that he was, “Jesus said, “Father, forgive them, for they do not know what they are doing.” Luke 23:24.

There is something to be learned from Jesus. More than just praying for and forgiving our enemies. 

Like I indicated above, not even Jesus made it through his short life without making enemies. It is nearly impossible for any of us to accomplish what He didn’t, especially given who He was. 

I have to be honest here. When I’m mad at someone because they’ve wronged me, the last thing that I am thinking about is how Jesus handled the many situations that arose for Him. It has taken me a long time to control my temper, thoughts, and mouth when in an unfavorable or unsavory situation. 

Unlike Jesus- very unlike Jesus, I have in fact, asked God to strike down my enemies. I wanted them removed by any means possible, I didn’t care how he did it, just get rid of them. Get them out of my life. Punish them for their transgressions against me. 

Not once did I think, gee, Shaunna, and you aren’t even hanging from a cross. You aren’t dying for anyone’s sins. You’re being wronged by people you trusted, or having your identity stolen or being cheated on, lied to, or abused. 

When I put my issues and betrayers, abusers, persecutors, liars, users, etc. up against Christ and what He endured, my issues seem obsolete, and my attitude seems horrific to say the least. Especially because while Jesus was dying for your sins and mine, He asked God to forgive those who were killing him. 

In our anger at wrongdoing, road rage, bad grades, bad day, cheating spouse, bad relationship, bad kids, bad boss, car problems, financial issues, or the ultimate betrayal of a friend or family member; how many times can you think of about Jesus and His forgiveness at the worst possible time of his life? 

For me- none. Not until recently. For the last few years, I’ve really tried to keep my focus on God. I’ve tried to model myself to be more like Jesus. It is one of the hardest things I have ever done. There is so much evil and wickedness, aggravation, failures, and disappointments in the world, that it is nearly impossible to accomplish such a thing. 

Luke 18:27, reminds us that, “Jesus replied, “What is impossible with man is possible with God.”

This is why it is so important to keep your focus on God. This way, when it comes to digging deep and unearthing forgiveness and praying for our enemies, He can make the impossible, possible. 

Prayer over an Enemy

“Do not take revenge, my dear friends, but leave room for God’s wrath, for it is written: “It is mine to avenge, I will repay,” says the Lord.” Romans 12:9

 

​Heavenly Father, we thank and glorify You for Your Word and scripture that brings us peace and comfort as we do Your will and follow Your commandments to pray for our friends, family and our enemies.

​Lord, we thank You for giving me Your heart to love my enemies to forgive as You have forgiven me for my sins. We know that without You, it would be impossible to do this these things without You, Lord. 

​Today we pray and declare Your Word and blessings over ______; thank You for removing all bitterness, hatred, resentment, ill-will, despising, cursing, vengefulness, and unforgiveness from my heart, mind, body, and soul.

​Thank You for freeing me from Satan and _____ as we declare THEY HAVE NO CLAIM OR AUTHORITY POVER MY LIFE, WILL, HEART, MIND, BODY, SOUL, OR EMOTIONS.

​I am a child of God. We pray that _____ would find their way back to you, hear your voice speaking clearly to them so that freedom from sin and salvation in Jesus Christ would be theirs.

​We pray breakthroughs and blessings over ____, today declaring God is greater than anything they are dealing with and that the fear inside of them would flee. 

​The power of the Spirit is yours. Claim and receive it. We pray for your healing and that your circumstances wouldchange. We pray for miracles to break over you and a revival of your soul would happen. 

​Lord, we declare Your Word; Psalm 105, Psalm 107, Romans 12:9, Genesis 50:20, 1 Timothy 2:1-2, Luke 23:34, Luke 6:27-28, Job 31:29-30, Proverbs 24:17, 1 Peter 3:9, Proverbs 25:21-22, Proverbs 16:7, Proverbs 20:22, Romans 5:8, Romans 8:28, Matthew 5:43-45, and Ephesians 4:32, over _____ their heart, mind, body, and soul.

​Jesus, we pray today You would overflow _____ with goodness and joy. We pray, Lord, that everywhere they go, they will see you, are reminded of you, your love, mercy, forgiveness, patience, and sacrifice for their sins.

​We plead and pray the blood of Christ over _____ and their family today according to Your Word. We pray the Holy Spirit would overwhelm them and would shake them from the path of evil and back onto your path of righteousness.

​Lord, we pray that today, ______ would proclaim the Name of Jesus Christ as their Lord and Savior and God as their Creator, Lord and Master. We declare today, ____ comes to the Lord and is ready, willingand claiming their place as a servant of the Lord.

​We declare they are ready to do Your will and be a testimony of Your never-failing love and mercy for others who need You. Lord may _____ be as compassionate to others as You are and loving as You as You send them forth to be a light in the darkness and to be fruitful in Your Holy Name.

​We declare a breakthrough for and in _______ today as You are the God of possibilities and miracles. 

In Jesus Name we pray,

~Amen~

 

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started